Memories

It’s interesting how random little things can bring to mind old memories. I just took a shower, and the scent of my towel brought about memories of me going swimming at my grandmother’s house. 

My family usually has one set of towels that we use continuously. Yes, they get washed, but not changed out for different towels. This means that all of our extra ones just sit in our linen closet untouched for extended periods of time.

During Christmas time my mom brings out a set of Christmasy towels in place of our regular ones, but since they are thin and don’t really absorb any water I choose to use another towel from our extras and place it beneath my Christmas one.

The towels that sit in the linen closet take on a certain smell. Not a bad one, like mold, mildew, or must, but a smell comprised of the various soaps, toothpastes, and whatnot that also live in that closet. 

When I was younger, my mom used to take my brother and I to my grandmother’s house in the summer while she went to work. Sometimes, we would go swimming in her pool. I’m not exactly sure why as it’s not like my grandparents didn’t have any towels, but we would always bring our own beach towels to use after swimming. Those towels too sat in the linen closet just like the one I am using now, and had the same smell. 

And just like that I have remembered a random childhood memory, from nothing but the scent of a towel. It’s amazing how our brain works, linking such things as smells to memories. 

Leave a Reply

